• Tune In: Britten's War Requiem

    Tune in and join us on Wednesday, April 30 live from Carnegie Hall. Robert Spano leads his Atlanta Symphony Orchestra and Chorus in a stirring performance of Britten's War Requiem. Completed in 1962, the work combines the Latin Mass for the Dead with texts by English poet Wilfred Owen, who himself was killed in action just a week before the end of World War I. The concert is part of our Carnegie Hall Live series, a partnership with WQXR and American Public Media.

    Read the program notes here. Full text and translation of the War Requiem available here.
    Tune in at 8 PM and join the conversation! #CHLive.


    Britten's War Requiem  


    Atlanta Symphony Orchestra
    Robert Spano, Music Director and Conductor
    Evelina Dobracheva, Soprano
    Thomas Cooley, Tenor
    Stephen Powell, Baritone
    Atlanta Symphony Orchestra Chorus
    Norman Mackenzie, Director
    Brooklyn Youth Chorus
    Dianne Berkun-Menaker, Artistic Director